When “Adults” Fall Behind on Their Homework

October 5, 2008

I am all energy and
No discipline
To substantiate one precious, plastic product

Worse, I want nothing but your compassion.

There was no Ritalin in parochial school
Back then
Diagnosis was faith-based and punishment
Meted out
As third grade spent locked in a utility closet

Copying the dictionary though I couldn’t yet read.

I have a father who talks to god and to garbage
In his study
Where tin lunch pails perch atop heaps of texts
I thought
He never finished his dissertation because I was born
Learning later
That he tried to write the impossible and failed

Tell me, which legacy is the better to inherit?

Leave a Reply

