Skates

August 26, 2007

I live my life on skates.
I really do.
When I’m in pain I recall the
Release of undoing laces
Leather tongue pouring out panting
Ankles breathing like lungs.

When I’m in bed in my underwear
I’m almost naked except for my skates
Melting slush slides off the blades
And sinks into the sheets
My feet are very heavy.

I can’t get rid of the skates
I always hear ice chipping.
Kids are doing egg-timers in ski-gloves
Bowed legs and arms outstretched
They come lurching forward, caved in
and scraping all the way

One Response to “Skates”

  1. Saerah said

    I really like this.

Leave a Reply

