What You Sleep Next To.

September 15, 2006

I.

I’ve been sleeping on my parents sofa.
The other night I awoke from a dream pressed against the back wall of the couch and my first fuzzy thought as I struggled back to conciousness in the dark, was “Who’s body is this here?”

II.

And then today I read in the paper about a middle aged man in Gaza who sleeps everynight on the ground outside his family’s hovel, wound around the precious plants they bought with the aid money meant for school uniforms and whose vegetables are now virtually the only food they know.

One Response to “What You Sleep Next To.”

  1. Christy said

    Wow that makes school uniforms seem unimportant.

Leave a Reply

